May 20th, 2008

Great River Health Systems presented Excellence in Practice Awards Thursday, May 15, to five employees who have demonstrated exemplary practice or performed specific deeds that exceed expectations to help patients, patients’ family members, community, co-workers and/or their professions. A $1,000 award was given in each category. Two finalists in each category received $200 awards. The winners and finalists were:

Clinical Excellence Award
Recognizes a clinician who provides outstanding clinical patient care daily
Winner: Lori Lafayette, physician assistant, Wapello Clinic
Finalists: Jennifer Maynard, radiologic technologist, Diagnostic Imaging, and Jim Towlerton, chemical dependency counselor, Center for Addictions

Community Excellence Award
Recognizes an employee for voluntary contributions of time and effort to the community
Winner: Becky Peitz, medical staff coordinator, Administration
Finalists: Tom Greene, pharmacist, Heritage Park Pharmacy, and Angela Myers, manager, Day Surgery and Postanesthesia Care Unit

Leadership Excellence Award
Recognizes someone who is making a difference and is a true leader at Great River Health Systems
Winner: Jackie Welch, clinical manager, Information Systems
Finalists: Christy Ford, generalist, Human Resources, and Cheryl Robben, supervisor, Rehabilitation Services

Nursing Excellence Award
Recognizes a registered nurse who provides outstanding direct patient care daily
Winner: Linda Lippert, Orthopedic Unit
Finalists: Ann Hainey, Transitional Care Unit, and Sue Waterman, Home Health Care and Hospice

Service Excellence Award
Recognizes an employee who does not provide direct patient care but plays an integral role in a health-system service
Winner: Mary Moore, infection control coordinator, Quality
Finalists: Todd Brissey, manager, Information Systems, and Penny Rea-Bailey, supervisor, Southeast Iowa Medical Services Billing