May 14th, 2010

Great River Health Systems presented Excellence in Practice Awards Thursday, May 6, to five employees and one physician who have demonstrated exemplary practice or performed specific deeds that exceed expectations to help patients, patients' family members, the community, coworkers and their professions.

Clinical Excellence Award
Recognizes a clinician who provides outstanding clinical patient care daily

  • Winner: Cheryl Litch (Burlington), echocardiographer, Great River Heart and Vascular Center
  • Finalists: Morgan Alchier (Fort Madison, Iowa), radiologic technologist, Diagnostic Imaging, and Bill Myers (Sperry, Iowa), physical therapist, Great River Physical Therapy

Community Excellence Award
Recognizes an employee for voluntary contributions of time and effort to the community

  • Winner: Daryl Wolff (West Burlington), operations supervisor, Plant Operations
  • Finalists: Brian Bauer (Danville, Iowa), electroneurodiagnostic technician, Great River Sleep Disorders Center, and Sharon Hicks (Stronghurst, Ill.), patient services associate, Digestive Health Center

Leadership Excellence Award
Recognizes someone who is making a difference and is a true leader at Great River Health Systems

  • Winner: Donna Williams (Wapello, Iowa), manager, Great River Wound and Hyperbaric Clinic
  • Finalists: Angie Box (West Point, Iowa), supervisor of patient-care documentation, Nursing Administration, and Char Cole (Lomax, Ill.), director, Heritage Partners Pharmacy

Nursing Excellence Award
Recognizes a registered nurse who provides outstanding direct patient care daily

  • Winner: Diane Aliprandi (Danville, Iowa), staff nurse, Intensive Care Unit
  • Finalists: Marcia Carlson (Burlington), nurse specialist, Great River Diabetes Education Program, and Brenda Coursey (Monmouth, Ill.,) staff nurse, Great River Heart and Vascular Center

Physician Excellence Award

Recognizes a physician who provides outstanding patient care, and shows leadership, citizenship and respect to the medical staff and health systems employees

  • Winner: JoEllen Hoth, M.D. (Burlington), family practice
  • Finalists: Anil Dhuna, M.D. (Burlington), Burlington Neurology and Sleep Clinic; and James McCabe, M.D. (Burlington), Burlington Area Family Practice Center

Service Excellence Award
Recognizes an employee who does not provide direct patient care but plays an integral role in a health-system service

  • Winner: Meranda Anderson (Fort Madison, Iowa), clinical nurse educator, Corporate Education
  • Finalists: Karen Russell, (Burlington), executive secretary, Administration, and Sandy Sacora (Burlington), compliance officer, Quality Resources